top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Farley

Farewell Glasgow

I am currently sitting in the airport preparing for the flight home and reflecting on my time at my new home-- Glasgow. My study abroad experience has made me realize the American things I missed most and introduced me to new European favorites of mine. Some of these objects are in the lists following...


Things I've missed

- Target: getting everything you need from one shop

- Cars driving on the right side of the road

- Being in the same time zone as my family

- The North American plugs and sockets

- Everyone's phone number having the same country code


Things I'll miss

- The abundance of tea and cake

- The extra nice and inclusive people of Glasgow

- Their food labels were pretty nifty and easy to read

- My suitemates and new friends I made

- Learning to cook meals (and lots of baked goods)


Things I've learned

- How to work public transit

- How to use resources like google maps and trip advisor to navigate a new city

- Always go to the event, even if you know no one there it will be a good time


Glasgow has taught me much more than I could have ever expected. I am still amazed by how easy it was to pack up my entire life and move to another country for 4 months. Though Glasgow is the knife stabbing capital of the UK, I am taking with me the fact the is was also voted the friendliest city in the UK. Everyone I met while on my travels in Europe's reply was the same when I told them where I was studying, "Glasgow? Wow. That will really toughen you up." I now take pride in this city with a rough past and hope to make it back sometime soon! Comparing my study abroad experience to everyone else's I've talked to, I think I picked the best place. I was able to embrace the culture more as I was able to communicate with everyone in English, live in the dorms with local students, have all my classes with locals, and join clubs with local students. I will miss their accents and silly words but I am more than excited to be back with my family and friends.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page